hench
Differences
This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.
Both sides previous revisionPrevious revisionNext revision | Previous revision | ||
hench [2020/02/05 19:47] – [Recruiting] andrew | hench [2020/02/25 19:48] (current) – imported rules from buying/selling/recruiting andrew | ||
---|---|---|---|
Line 14: | Line 14: | ||
PCs are powerful leaders, and as such will acquire NPCs in their service. | PCs are powerful leaders, and as such will acquire NPCs in their service. | ||
- | Retainers are controlled by the GM, but given orders by their PC commander. Retainers generally demand 10gp per HD per day in service under dangerous conditions and a fraction of that if serving in a less stressful capacity. | + | Retainers are controlled by the GM, but given orders by their PC commander. Retainers generally demand 10gp or more per HD per day for service under dangerous conditions and a fraction of that if serving in a less stressful capacity. |
- | A PC can’t command more than their CHA retainers. | + | A PC can’t command more than their Charisma score in retainers. |
- | + | ||
- | Retainers are all created from one of the retainer [[class|classes]] and are hired from the retainer deck. | + | |
Retainers only advance in skill and power under certain circumstances. | Retainers only advance in skill and power under certain circumstances. | ||
Line 28: | Line 26: | ||
Henchmen advance in skill and power just like PCs, except they may only do so by spending the gold given from their patron PC's share of any adventure. | Henchmen advance in skill and power just like PCs, except they may only do so by spending the gold given from their patron PC's share of any adventure. | ||
+ | As a general rule, a PC may have no more than one henchman at a time. PCs with an exceptional Charisma score and/or a high level may attempt to recruit more, but retaining the new and previous henchmen in the future will be at a Disadvantage. A PC may never have more extra henchmen at a time than the PC's CHA bonus. | ||
Line 35: | Line 34: | ||
If players want to recruit Retainers or Henchmen, they must spend at least a week of time and money in town. During this time, they are doing their best to find able-bodied free men interested in work. | If players want to recruit Retainers or Henchmen, they must spend at least a week of time and money in town. During this time, they are doing their best to find able-bodied free men interested in work. | ||
- | Henchmen may be recruited | + | Retainers are all created |
- | + | ||
- | Recruiting requires a CHA check to draw potential followers, and a second successful check to convince one or more of them to join on with the PC patron. | + | |
- | + | ||
- | + | ||
- | ==== Reknown ==== | + | |
- | PCs can garner renown, a rating of their infamy. The higher their renown, the more likely | + | Henchmen may be recruited from the hench deck, in which case they usually start around 3rd level or so. Alternatively, they may be rolled by the player just like a new 1st level PC. If players want to recruit Henchmen (and are eligible for such) spend a week in Kingston to attract 1D6+ CHA bonus or 1D4+CHA bonus in a smaller town for candidates. |
- | Renown = PC’s highest ability mod + level. | ||
- | The GM can choose to roll for an NPC’s familiarity, | ||
- | If rolling, the GM rolls 1D20; the NPC knows the PC if equal or under their renown. If the GM thinks it likely or unlikely that an NPC would know the PC but still wishes to roll, they may do so at advantage (the NPC is more likely to know the PC, take the lower result) or disadvantage (the NPC is unlikely to know the PC). | ||
- | ==== Sacking or Quitting ==== | + | ===== Sacking or Quitting |
- | Hench may be dismissed from service, or they may decide that their patron' | + | Hench may be dismissed from service, or they may decide that their patron' |
+ | Retainers expect to work for one specific expedition. | ||
+ | {{ : | ||
hench.1580932056.txt.gz · Last modified: 2020/02/05 19:47 by andrew